Aside

Outside looking in

I’m on the outside looking in. 
The girl who smiles, the one who laughs. 

The me who is everything I’m supposed to be

I don’t recognize her

She is a stranger

I’m on the outside looking in

Appearing content 

my vision is bent 

A funhouse mirror

I can’t see clear

I wonder if the world can see

I’m not who I pretend to be

Uncomfortable inside my body

Tight inside my skin

Pride won’t let me show the sadness beneath my grin

I’m on the outside looking in

Leave a Reply

