Paper Doll

I’m just a doll

Cut and trimmed just right

You’ll want to put me in your pocket

Not to keep me safe

But to hide me away

Where I’ll stay a secret
I’m just a doll cut from white paper

One out of many

My thoughts aren’t worth a penny

I wasn’t created to feel

After all I’m not real
I’m a paper doll with a paper heart living in a paper town with paper people

No blood courses through my veins

You think I feel no pain

You don’t know I’ve been crumpled up

Thrown away when I won’t play in the puppet show
Caught by a new game

It’s always the same

Be careful

One more tug on my paper heart

I may tear apart

After all I’m just a paper doll 

 

2 thoughts on “Paper Doll

Leave a Reply

