Saturday Nights

Most of the glory for people my age lies in the weekend. 20-somethings are the marvelous weekend warriors. Parties, drinking, and other revelries occur. It is July, summertime, my favorite season, and I look at Instagram photos and my friend’s snapchats, and the vacations and booze look fabulous. I, however sit here on yet another Saturday night alone finishing my research paper for my English composition 2 class. That is how it goes these days. I work all day, 5 days a week, and study/ do schoolwork at night. I have little time for anything else other than my immediate responsibilities.

 

I am not writing this blog post to complain. That is not the point. I am writing this to say that these are not my glory days, and I refuse to let my age tell me when that time is. My late teens and early 20’s are meant for work, and for building myself up so I can reach my goals. I do not regret my decision to work full-time and be a full-time student. The point of this post is to up build others who experience the same thing as I do. You are not alone. It sucks to feel like you are the only one who isn’t out there “experiencing” life. We, as we build our careers, our finances, and our families are not missing out on something. We are where we are supposed to be in this moment in time. So let us build our lives to enjoy 7 days a week, rather than just Saturday night. Let us have our own private dance party in between studying chapters in a psychology book, changing diapers, or budgeting our funds to save up for a home.

There is no shame in not being free to do as you fancy. My time is coming, your time is coming, and it will be better than we could ever imagine. All the things you want are right around the corner. So friends and readers of this blog I urge you to push further, study harder, and be the best you that you can be. I assure you the world isn’t ready for you yet. May there be many more Saturday nights ahead.

 

 

Leave a Reply

