Excerpt from a Story #2.5

The city lights reflected in my vanity mirror as the night dragged on. I sat there sipping my champagne that I shouldn’t have been drinking since I was supposed to be 5 months sober. I didn’t care about things like that back then. I was a selfish woman. I deserved to be. I looked at myself in the mirror; my eyes were smeared in black eyeliner and my mascara was streaked down my cheeks. I was amazed at how ugly I looked, when just a few hours before I was the most beautiful girl at the cocktail party. But that is how fast life changes. I was the girl who guys wanted to date, and who girls wanted to be. I loved my position in life. There was no one else I’d rather be, until this very moment that changed everything. That was last summer. The night that forever changed me. I’d like to go on the record by saying I am still extremely fabulous, just not in the same vain way I was before.

That hot summer night, after staring at myself for what seemed like decades, I tore my elegant green mermaid style dress off and threw it in a heap on the floor along with the pearls and diamond necklace that bastard had given me. I stood there in nothing but my strapless bra, black lace thong and Christian Louboutin stilettos. I studied myself in the stand alone mirror for a moment admiring my thin figure and toned bum. I loved my body while hating the person inside of it. I turned away quickly and ran into the bathroom to draw myself a hot bubble bath. I watched the steam rise as the Jacuzzi tub began to fill.

 

The air in the bathroom filled with a strong lavender vanilla scent that calmed me. It is probably one of the main reasons why I didn’t hear him enter into the room behind me. I turned my head to look over my shoulder for a second before his fist hit my face. I wish I could say that he stopped after that one punch, but he didn’t. His fists pounded into my face crushing bone until I blacked out unconscious. I had done things in the past to make men mad. I had been slapped and pushed a couple of times, but I had always gotten up and defended myself, stopping further abuse. The slaps and pushes were no big deal I could handle it, but this beating changed my life forever.

2 thoughts on “Excerpt from a Story #2.5

  1. Hi empywordsalive. A shocking story. Never have I hit a woman. What happened to you is brutal. I am sure it did change your life. Hope life has improved. Thank you for liking my poem “London Streets and your lovely comment. Yes it is an amazing city where there is intrigue murder adventures and ghosts! The imagination has no limit! Peace and Best Wishes. #TheFoureyedPoet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

